HomeEqual OpportunityWorkforce SystemContact Us
The Local Area 1 Workforce Investment Board exists to connect employers to a motivated workforce having skills to obtain and maintain meaningful employment.
About the BoardOne Stop PartnersEmployer ServicesJob Seeker ServicesAdult ProgramsYouthProgramsResource LibraryNews & Events

Committee Description and Members

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee shall consist of the chairperson and chairs of the LWIB standing committees and shall include at least one Human Resources Professional. The Executive Committee is empowered to act in lieu of the LWIB when matters arise that must be dealt with between regular meetings of the LWIB that are not of the magnitude to warrant a special meeting of the entire LWIB, including the handling of personnel issues. In such cases, the Executive Committee should remain consistent with the existing philosophies, policies and procedures of the LWIB and such action should be reported to the entire LWDB in writing.

Chair: Kenneth Gates, LWDB Chair

Committee Staff: Deb Scheibler, Executive Director

Current Members:

  • Kenneth Gates
  • Steve Gieber
  • Earnie Lehman
  • Aaron White
  • Annette Suppes
  • Don Davis (CEOB)

Fiscal Committee

The Fiscal Committee oversees the development and management of the budget; ensures accurate tracking, monitoring and accountability of funds; ensures existence of adequate financial controls and reviews monthly fiscal reports. In addition, this committee will oversee the development and scoring of all RFPs, the fiscal agent contract with Allen, Gibbs and Houlik and facility management. 

Chair: Steve Gieber

Committee Staff: Deb Scheibler, Executive Director; Michael Wolff, Fiscal Agent

Member Nomination:

  • Don Davis (CEOB)
  • Steve Gieber, Treasurer
  • Phil Wyssenbach
  • Tony Fiedler
  • David Bishop

Youth Development Committee

The Youth Committee will provide guidance and oversight of Local Area I youth programs of all core partners. This committee will seek methods to improve youth service delivery systems, reduce duplication, improve and expand partnerships and improve outcomes of all youth workforce programs.

Chair: Aaron White

Committee Staff: Allison Stewart, Operations Director

Members Nominations:

  • Annette Suppes
  • Ardis Newhouse (Project Search)
  • Aaron White
  • Vicki Richardson (Foster Care)
  • Mario Morales (Job Corps)
  • Dennis Ford (DCF – VR)
  • Debbie Kearns (AE – CCCC)
  • Marcy McClelland (CEOB)

One-Stop Committee

The One-Stop Committee provides guidance and oversight of the Workforce System in LAI. This committee will seek methods to improve the job seeker and employer service delivery systems, reduce duplication among partners, improve partner relationships, increase community partnerships, and promote the workforce system in LAI. In addition, this committee will oversee the development of Local Area I One-Stop Memorandum of Understanding with all partners as well as establish a shared cost and performance tracking system as required by WIOA.

Committee Staff: Tucky Allen, Local Area Business Services Director; Allison Stewart, Operations Director 

Current Members:

  • Andy Reichart (Prairie Independent Living)
  • Dennis Ford (DCF – VR)
  • Matt Hoisington
  • Abigail Crandall (WP, TAA & VETS)
  • Matt Connell (AE – Barton County College)
  • Larry Poore (CEOB)
  • Emma Trevino (SER –Senior)
  • Mario Morales (Job Corp)
  • Carolyn Benitez (SER – MSFW)
  • Jennifer Wise (KDOL – UI)
  • Travis Combs (AE – Liberal)
  • Kelly Mobray (AE – Salina)
  • Hector Martinez (AE – Garden City)
  • Michael Donnelly (DCF – VR)
  • Daniel Decker (DCF – E&T)

Program Operations Committee

The Operations Committee will provide oversight and guidance of the WIOA Title IB Adult, Dislocated Worker and Youth programs as well as all other grants operated by LAI. In addition, this committee will provide oversight of Workforce Center services and performance. This committee will review service delivery methods, recommend policy modifications, oversee enrollment levels and seek methods to improve program performance.

Chair: Earnie Lehman

Committee Staff: Tucky Allen, Local Area Business Services Director; Allison Stewart, Operations Director 

Current Members:

  • Earnie Lehman
  • Chris Ryan
  • Ron Loomis (CEOB)
  • Phil Wyssenbach
  • Heather Herren
  • Bryan Herwig
  • Steve Gieber

Accessibility Task Force

The Accessibility Task Force will be tasked with improving physical and program accessibility for customers with disabilities and limited English persons. In addition, the task force will assist in the development of training for staff to improve their abilities to work with customers with disabilities.

Committee Staff: Kristin Doze, Disability Employment Navigator

  • Steve Gieber
  • Tony Fiedler
  • Chris Ryan
  • Dave Mullins - Hutchinson Community College
  • Abigail Crandall
  • Jeff Schroder (Kansas Dept. of Commerce)
  • Dennis Ford (Vocational Rehabilitation)
  • Andy Reichart (Prairie Independent Living Resource Center, Inc.)

Career Pathways / Sector Strategy Training Task Force

The Career Pathways Task Force will be tasked with determining Career Pathways development, implementation and reporting processes which are in-line with the needs of Local Area I employers.

Chair: Dr. Carl Heilman

Committee Staff: Kendra McAlister, Special Projects Manager; Allison Stewart, Operations Director 

  • Dr. Carl Heilman
  • Dave Mullins - Hutchinson Community College
  • Nance Munderloh (AE – Colby)